Portland Statues Part I

I had a chance to sketch a few of my favorite statues today. Joan of Arc in Laurelhurst, Harvey W. Scott statue at the top of Mt. Tabor and The Elk statue in downtown by Lownsdale Square. Joan of Arc holds a special place in my heart since I grew up nearby and have seen it almost every day of my life. I remember when she still had a beautiful petina (before the garish gold restoration). Does anyone remember the pumpkin that adorned her each Halloween?!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Portland Statues Part I

  1. […] My first statue post can be found here: Portland Statues Part I […]

  2. Gbea says:

    Yes – I grew up in Laurelhurst and not only remember Joan’s Halloween pumpkin but also the bottle of champagne she brandished one New Year’s!
    Thanks for the memories! Love your blog.

  3. Sharon says:

    Hi, I live in Laurelhurst and I’m wondering whether I might use your Joan of Arc line drawing in our neighborhood newsletter?

Leave a comment